What’s a good cost per lead?
I got the chance to answer this question in a Facebook group and I thought of sharing it here in case it helps someone. You can use it as a guideline for your own ad campaigns too when determining cost per lead.
My own answer was that it depends on the advertiser’s goals.
Since the work I do for my clients are mainly customer acquisition, my aim is to acquire customers at breakeven or better. Based on that goal, here’s how I compute for my target cost per lead:
1. I determine my conversion rate based on historical data.
2. I determine the average revenue I get for every initial purchase of a new customer.
3. I multiply the 2 numbers and get my target cost per lead.
For example. If my sales page converts at 15% and I get an average of P500 per new customer, then my target cost per lead is P75.
If you’re selling just one product and you’re looking to profit of it, just include your target profit margin in the equation. Use it to remove the profit from the revenue.
For example, I’m selling a P10,000 product on a sales page which converts at 20% and I want to earn at least 40% profit. The equation would then be 60% x P10,000 x 20% = P1,200 per lead.
Hope that helps!
Looking for a Community for Facebook Advertisers?
We have a Facebook Group for exclusively for Awesome Facebook Advertisers in the Philippines where we can help each other out when it comes to Facebook Ads.